FREE SHIPPING on US orders $35 or more!



The Black Flamingo

Regular price $ 18.99

by Dean Atta

Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

5/26/2020, hardcover

SKU: 9780062990297

 

Stonewall Book Award Winner!

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed UK poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs--and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are--and allow us to shine.

Target age: 14 and up

Reviews:

"The Black Flamingo is an essential addition to the canon of queer coming-of-age stories. Dean Atta has gifted us with words that are lyrical, hilarious and intimate. I'm obsessed with this book and you will be too."--Abdi Nazemian, author of Like a Love Story

"Celebratory and passionate, Atta's bold verse novel calls to its readers to find their own blazing, performative inner truth"--The Guardian

About the Author:

Dean Atta's poems deal with themes of race, gender, and identity. He regularly performs across the UK and internationally and his work has been shortlisted for the Polari First Book Prize and appeared on MTV and BET. The Black Flamingo is his debut YA novel.