FREE SHIPPING on US orders $35 or more!



Something to Say

Regular price $ 7.99

by Lisa Moore Ramée

Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

5/4/2021, paperback

SKU: 9780062836724

 

From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble, a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice--and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds.

Eleven-year-old Jenae doesn't have any friends--and she's just fine with that. She's so good at being invisible in school, it's almost like she has a superpower, like her idol, Astrid Dane. At home, Jenae has plenty of company, like her no-nonsense mama; her older brother, Malcolm, who is home from college after a basketball injury; and her beloved grandpa, Gee.

Then a new student shows up at school--a boy named Aubrey with fiery red hair and a smile that won't quit. Jenae can't figure out why he keeps popping up everywhere she goes. The more she tries to push him away, the more he seems determined to be her friend. Despite herself, Jenae starts getting used to having him around.

But when the two are paired up for a class debate about the proposed name change for their school, Jenae knows this new friendship has an expiration date. Aubrey is desperate to win and earn a coveted spot on the debate team.

There's just one problem: Jenae would do almost anything to avoid speaking up in front of an audience--including risking the first real friendship she's ever had.

Reviews:

Something to Say is an ode to family and friendship, a call to action, all housed in a story about a girl who finds the courage to face her fears and use her voice to speak up about the people and places that matter to her most. With tenderness, wit, and charm, Ramée creates unforgettable characters that readers will no doubt relate to and root for.--Renée Watson, author of Some Places More Than Others

"Ramée creates a number of convincing characters with depth and individuality.... This satisfying novel revolves around civic engagement, family relationships, and an unexpected but ultimately welcome friendship."--ALA Booklist

About the Author:

Lisa Moore Ramée was born and raised in Los Angeles, and she now lives in the Bay Area of California, with her husband, two kids, and two obnoxious cats. She is the author of A Good Kind of Trouble and Something to Say.