We Won't Be Here Tomorrow: And Other Stories

Regular price $ 18.00

by Margaret Killjoy

AK Press

9/20/2022, paperback

SKU: 9781849354752


Spaceships, man-eating mermaids, swords, demons, ghouls, thieves, hitchhikers, and life in the margins.

Margaret Killjoy's stories have appeared for years in science fiction and fantasy magazines both major and indie. Here, we have collected the best previously published work along with brand new material. Ranging in theme and tone, these imaginative tales bring the reader on a wild and moving ride. They'll encounter a hacker who programs drones to troll CEOs into quitting; a group of LARPers who decide to live as orcs in the burned forests of Oregon; queer, teen love in a death cult; the terraforming of a climate-changed Earth; polyamorous love on an anarchist tea farm during the apocalypse; and much more. Killjoy writes fearless, mind-expanding fiction.


"Whistling sweetly toward the gallows, Margaret Killjoy's We Won't Be Here Tomorrow really is all about the friends (and many missteps) we'll make along the way." -- The Future Fire

"For this impressive collection, Killjoy (the Danielle Clan series) brings together 21 speculative shorts tinged with just the right amount of horror to keep readers gloriously uncomfortable... Throughout, Killjoy showcases her gift for blending cerebral speculation with visceral thrills. There's plenty to chew on here." -- Publishers Weekly

"This book puts the punk back into punk. Margaret Killjoy knows about resistance and solidarity, about spellcasting and hitchhiking; she also knows about that one ghost whispering to you. Margaret has a singularly principled approach that comes through every story: read this collection to help orient yourself in quiet forests and in near-future battlegrounds alike. We Won't Be Here Tomorrow is the rare book that is both knife-sharp and empathetic, that shows you how to fight and also makes you consider why. Read it, tell your friends -- your enemies will scramble to catch up." -- Bogi Takács, editor of Transcendent 2 and Transcendent 3

About the Author:

Margaret Killjoy is a transfeminine author born and raised in Maryland who was spent her adult life traveling with no fixed home. A 2015 graduate of Clarion West, Margaret's short fiction has been published by Tor.com, Strange Horizons, Vice's Terraform, and Fireside Fiction, amongst others. She is the author of A Country of Ghosts, The Lamb Will Slaughter the Lion, and The Barrow Will Send What it May. She is also the host of the podcast Live Like the World is Dying and Cool People Who Did Cool Stuff on iHeartRadio. She is based in rural West Virginia.